My ambivalent return

August 10, 2008 at 8:26 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 10 Comments

So I’m back, but I’m not entirely sure what I’m doing here. I’m tired of the Polar Bear, but I can’t seem to let her go.  (I’m remember the time I was tired of being clergy, too, and I couldn’t let that go, either.)So, I guess the bear is part of me. But now the bear is free.

I am just back from a conference that was about 95% perfect.  And the 5% that was not perfect was all about me, and not about the serendipitous combination of wonderful personalities, a PHENOMENAL instructor, an engaging topic, great weather, and just all -round good will. The 5% not perfect had to do with my discomfort with personnel changes, my nostalgia about ending my association with this group.

Kitties have been utterly joyous at my return.  We have had many, many reunion parties.  There was the party when I first came home, followed by the party when I returned from going to the car to get a bag. Then there was the party after getting out of the shower, and the party after I returned from getting the mail. These cats know how to make a girl feel welcome.

This is the week of “a doctor a day.”  I have dermatologist on Monday, dentist on Tuesday, allergist on Wednesday, and general practioner on Thursday.  I’m leaving Friday free in case I think of any other doctors to make an appointment with–urgent care, urology, obstetrics are all possibilities.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Glad to see you back, on whatever terms you choose.

  2. Like the kitties, we celebrate your return!

  3. [waving excitedly!]

  4. I’m glad to see you back!

  5. Those cats of yours are really something.

  6. oh, thank god, she’s back in some form! i’m behind scriv, waving madly. 🙂

  7. glad to see you here. I agree with you about facebook, for what it’s worth. (A cry for help)

  8. obstetrics?

    good to see you. I admit I was distracted by another polar bear while you were away.

  9. I’m so glad you’re back!

  10. I’ve always thought a podiatrist would be interesting… just because i like the word.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

