O blest communion

August 18, 2008 at 7:22 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

I have been asked to preach a sermon, and for various reasons, I’ve committed to preaching about communion (choosing theme before scripture–not recommended but I did it). This is a service that will be at the end of a week of orientation.  For many, it will be the first ecumenical service they’ve experienced in a while, if ever.

So I’m just going to talk about it. I want to talk about how much courage it takes to come to the table. I guess. Maybe that’s a corny topic.

There is a small story that I don’t think I’ll tell, but which is in the back of my mind–scaffolding for this sermon.

The last time I preached, it was at a very fancy church. Communion was this very serious affair with the deacons setting off together on their right feet, and an order as to when they sat as compared to when I sat, etc.

There was a family visiting that Sunday—an Asian American family which really stands out in the face of all that whiteness.  And this little girl–she was maybe 10–she stood on the pew in the back row, and craned her neck to see everything that was happening.  Her eyes were such saucers, her expression one of eager anticipation.

I want to be like her.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like that story.

  2. I love that image.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

