Read any good books lately?

September 11, 2008 at 12:28 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

I’ve been on this mystery thing….mystery after mystery after mystery.  I think I need some good fiction. But nothing is calling my name.  I’m not so much a historical fiction fan, but I like most everything else. And memoir, which is not fiction, but I like it anyway. 

Of course, what I really should do is knuckle down with all the big girl preacher books on my shelves that I haven’t done more than skim. 

But I’m hungry for fiction.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I just read a mystery too, practically in one sitting, which is not really typical of me. Have you read anything by Julia Spencer-Fleming? Her sleuth is a woman Episcopal priest, kind of fun. Especially if you’re feeling mystery-ious.

  2. I’m in the same boat. I’m going to read “The Story of Edgar Sawtelle,” but I’m also starting “Saving Paradise,” which makes me feel I’m using my graduate student brain cells. (Just can’t forget to keep my glasses on, that print is small!!!)

  3. I love, love, love Laurie King’s “The Beekeeper’s Apprentice.” And anything by Dorothy L. Sayers.

  4. Oh, and I like Gail Godwin’s “Evensong,” even though it’s not a mystery. It’s just a satisfying read.

  5. i don’t particularly like fiction that has anything to do with churchy stuff. it feels too much like work to me. i read jhumpa lahiri’s “unaccustomed earth” a month or so ago– a collection of short stories– and enjoyed it. it’s not exactly new ground for her, but it’s still good.

  6. i liked suite francaise, too. some complain it’s choppy, but things are allowed to be choppy when you’re hauled off to the concentration camp in the middle of it.

  7. The two most recent non-mystery books I read (and really liked) are both sort of historical novels, but not in a traditional way: _March_, by Geraldine Brooks, and _Away_, by Amy Bloom. March is Brooks’s imagining of what happened to the father in Little Women while he was away at the war. _Away_ is the story of a young Jewish woman who comes to the United States in the 1920s, fleeing pogroms in Russia in which her whole family and her young daughter (as she thinks) were murdered. Then she finds out her daughter may be alive, and the whole novel becomes the story of her quest to get back to Russia to find her. It’s beautifully written–tender and comic and sad at once–and has lots of very focused and vivid scenes of what New York was like then, and other places in the U.S. too.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

