Back from Trip

October 28, 2008 at 9:22 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Everything went pretty well–some glitches, but whatcha gonna do?

I’m doing a lot of preaching and writing lately.
I have a book proposal that really must get out ASAP, which means, of course, writing that sample chapter. I preached on Sunday and preach again on Friday, and also have a big-old end-of-grant report staring me down. The problem with all this writing is that I’m feeling rather spacey and flighty lately. I can’t seem to hang on to a project for very long.

Teaching is going well. It’s in the middle of the term that I frequently revisit the, “why didn’t I get a PhD and become a professor?” question.  The answer, of course, is that I don’t think a PhD sounds like fun. It’s just the teaching afterward that is a blast. (I say this recognizing that many professors really don’t like to teach all that much. ) If only I could get a mail-order PhD….

My ordination anniversary was last week. Fifteen years. I wish I had a called and installed ministry in which to celebrate it.  Several of my acquaintances are just getting back their ordination exams this week–or getting the scores back anyway. They are getting closer, closer, closer. Good providence y’all.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations on your anniversary!!
    And good luck with the sample chapter and all the other things keeping you so busy.

  2. I am SO glad to hear about the book proposal, if only for the selfish reason that I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your writing! Yay!

  3. Sweetie feels the same way about the PhD. Happy Anniversary, if I were near you I would hold a big ol’ par-tay.

  4. Congratulations on your ordination anniversary!

  5. Welcome back and happy ordination anniversary!! I celebrated my tenth ordination anniversary in May when I was on sick leave. It came and went with no one to notice, so I get why not having a church to celebrate with kind of sucks. I hope it helps even a bit that all of your cyber church is raising a glass to celebrate your ministry!!

  6. Hi, Didn’t know you’d started blogging again until I read your comment on my daughter’s blog. Anyhow, regarding the PhD, as far as I know there’s no age limit, and perhaps you could use your book as thesis material, instead of the other way ’round, as many younger PhD’s do? Just sayin’


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

