Thankful

November 26, 2008 at 2:48 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 12 Comments

I’ve had a hard time with thanksgiving lately. This is the second year in a row that I’ll be alone. I could have gone to the other coast to spend it with family, but I can’t afford it–both financially and in terms of vacation days. At least this time, I know what to expect. Tomorrow, I’ll go rent or buy a bunch of movies.  (Never turn the TV on if you are forced to spend the holiday alone, BTW—you can pretend it’s NOT thanksgiving so long as you don’t have TV telling you that you’re wrong.) Tonight I bought some chicken breasts, and I’m going to make a cranberry-chicken recipe that I found in a magazine while waiting to get my eyes examined.  I’ll also make cranberry-apple pie. That’s it. Good food, lots of movies, and mindless receipt processing. 

But, I like to think that thanksgiving is an experience not a day, so here are the things I am thankful for this week: 

* that I have a place to go for Christmas to look forward to. 

* that I have enough money to buy chicken and pie and movies. 

* that I have two very exciting opportunities ahead of me for the year–neither are sure things, but both are very likely. 

* that I have a pretty girl kitty and a goofy boy kitty who love me, and who are healthy. 

* that I joined a gym. that’s a weird thanksgiving, I know. I hate working out. But I’m grateful that when there’s something less than optimal about my health, I have enough resources to do something about it. 

* my computer and internet connection: my passport to the world outside my door. 

* camp 

* Diet Coke.

* music

* getting to go to Scotland last spring. 

* my family. 

* my friends. 

* young ministers that inspire me, and old ones that motivate me. A great cloud of witnesses that surrounds me. 

* you.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am thankful for blogs like yours! I may be with family for Thanksgiving, but sometimes feel so alone and blog-reading helps.

  2. Aw. Happy T-Day.

  3. Thankful for you, too, ppb.

  4. Thanks.

  5. I’m thankful for you too ppb. And I’m glad you’re going somewhere for Christmas!!

  6. i’m thankful you’re blogging again and that you have big dreams for projects that you make happen.

  7. I’m thankful that I’m not the only person struggling with T-day this year.

  8. I look forward to hearing more about your plans, ppb, and I wish you could come to our place tomorrow! Your day sounds like my typical New Years Day — I like to sit with a journal and give thanks and dream a bit for what’s ahead.

  9. happy thanksgiving, ppb!

  10. Happy Thanksgiving, PPB.

  11. I’m thankful you posted again!

  12. Thankful for you, too.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

