Dust Machine

December 29, 2008 at 5:56 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

So, I have this room in my apartment. It’s a sort of a guest room, with a single bed in it. It’s also a sort of a library, with lots of bookshelves. And last, it’s sort of the cat room. The litter box is there, and the cats really like to sleep in the low windows. 

The room is a disaster. The kitty litter dust gets kicked EVERYWHERE. Both cats are kickers. And then there are those 100o plus books to absorb it. 

I began tackling it yesterday afternoon. First of all, and perhaps most important, I’m culling through books. REALLY culling through books.  I have 8 of those re-usable grocery bags full of books to give away.  I also have 2 tubs of books to go through, still. Yes, I ran out of space, and started storing books in rubbermaid tubs. (In my defense, I only have 1 shelf of personally owned books at work.) I’m getting ruthless in my culling, and hope that when I finish this room, I’ll be just as ruthless in the bedroom. (The books are going to the book bank that I’m so fond of.) What’s killing me is that even though I’m being super ruthless, I still don’t have an empty shelf. I had been double stacking the books. 

The dust, though…Oh the dust…..2 rolls of paper towels and counting.  Not surprisingly, this is the only room that the domestic goddess does not clean. This was at first to both save money and give the cats a place to hide during the onslaught. Clearly, I need to take on cleaning this room much more often.  

Right now the smell is overwhelming (nothing like kicking up a lot of dust to make it worse!) so I have the windows open and some fans going to try to force the air out.  

I have to take frequent breaks, as in at least every 45 minutes.  I’m feeling like I’m a youth group work project, and afterward everyone will get together and sing kumbyah and talk about how people get themselves into such a horrible state. 

Ay. 

Well, I have some errands to run later today, and the plan is to finish this room (but not the closet yet) today.  The rest of my break (I go back to work on Friday), I need to do all the outrageous amounts of grant paperwork (barf), and hope to also tackle the junk closet and my bedroom closets. 

Some people might actually relax while on vacation!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think you are very brave to undertake this.

  2. Yes, you are a brave woman. 🙂

    Do you have a covered litter box? If not, that might help with the li’l kickers.

  3. I do have a covered litter box. And in fact, I just invested in a fancy dancy wooden covered litter box cover. It should arrive by the end of the month. It was a ridiculous amount of money, but I have decided that I have to move the litter box into my bedroom, and I refuse to look at the tackiness of the existing one. It’s become painfully obvious that kitty litter dust and tons of books are just a bad combination.

  4. What is this relaxing on break you speak of? I might like to try it some time.

    I need to tackle closets. Knowing that I will have to move sometime this year is a strong motivator to not let things get any more out of hand than they already are.

  5. What is this cleaning process of which you speak?

    ANd do I understand there are books being given away???????????

  6. Good on you brave soul.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

