the mandatory self-reflective new year’s post

January 2, 2009 at 3:47 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

The first thing I’d like to say is that it was DARN COLD in those waters this morning.  I had a fun time taking the plunge, but seriously—my legs still hurt!

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

Went to Scotland.
2. Did you keep your New Years’ Resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don’t think I made any New Year’s resolutions last year. I think for next year, I’ll resolve to not make any resolutions.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Alex’s baby was born in 2007, but joined their family in 2008. I think that counts.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Close to me, no, but important to me? Paul Newman.

5. What countries did you visit?
US, Scotland.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
A good job.

7. What date from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
None, really.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Getting the grant stuff pretty well situated.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Several failed job applications. Losing my wonderful part-time job (not a failure, per se, it was a temporary gig, but it feels like a failure.)

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

No.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

new guitar.
12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
TYCWP

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
hmmm….a lot of people. My expectations are unrealistically high.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Student loans, and rent.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
A few of the jobs I interviewed for, the accomplishments of some rock-stars…traveling.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?
I’d say, I can’t wait to See You Again.” Yes, that is a Miley Cyrus song. No, I don’t own it. But yes, I have heard dozens of little girls sing it for stage nights at camp.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? the same.
ii. thinner or fatter? fatter (sigh)
iii. richer or poorer? poorer, but not by much.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Exercising.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Eating. Fretting.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
At parent’s with family.

21. What LJ users did you meet?
I don’t think I met anyone that I had not previously met.

22. Did you fall in love in 2008?
no

23. How many one-night stands?
Um, none.

24. What was your favourite TV program?
Desperate Housewives. (i know, I know… shallow.. but fun!)

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
No.

26. What was the best book you read?

Nothing springs to mind. That’s sad.I did read 63 books, though…..

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
That the old girl still has it (I made a few self-recordings.)

28. What did you want and get?
a guitar.


29. What did you want and not get?
a good job. a size six figure.(Although seriously, just wanting that without leaving the couch doesn’t really count.)

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
I only saw 3: Sex and the City, Wall-E and that one about the dog. I liked Sex and the City the best.
31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 27 in early December. I spent it in Florida, volunteering at camp.

32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
sweater sets. I like sweater sets.
34. What kept you sane?
facebook? the internet?  seriously, the internet is the best thing ever.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Paul Newman.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

The marriage equality issues. I still don’t understand how a right can be removed.
37. Who did you miss?
Lana.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
I have a new friend at work who is really funny.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.
Just do it.  I guess Nike said that first, but I am seconding the emotion.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

I’ve heard it said
That people come into our lives for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
And we are led
To those who help us most to grow
If we let them
And we help them in return
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
But I know I’m who I am today
Because I knew you:

Like a comet pulled from orbit
As it passes a sun
Like a stream that meets a boulder
Halfway through the wood
Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better?
But because I knew you
I have been changed for good

(Wicked)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You continue to amaze with your polar bear exploits!

  2. Seriously with the polar bear jump???

    And I love Desperate Housewives too.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

