memorabilia

January 11, 2009 at 5:01 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Memorabilia was one of my favorite words in junior high. I’m not sure where I came to hear it first, but I took to it. It has an onomonopiatic (I just made that word up) element to it.  At least to me. 

I guess my fondness for the word was prophetic, as I seem to have WAY more than average fondness for the thing itself.  I have so many little things…buttons and magnets and ticket stubs and photographs.  Before I went digital, I made photo albums.  I don’t want to know how many there are, but let’s just say they take up a 4 shelf bookcase. 

One of my collections is of ticket stubs.  I don’t always remember, but when I do, I keep the stubs to plays, concerts, ballets, operas, etc.  At one point, I put all that I had collected into a collage that I hang on my wall.  Well, the collage got really sun-faded, and I needed the wall space.  So I’m trying to re-collage them (I made up that word, too) to a plain wooden box that I purchased long ago at a craft store, back when I thought I might become crafty.  I’m working on that project now.  Due to drying time, it’s going to take a long time. And it’s become evident that not everything is going to fit, so I may need to acquire a second wooden box.  I’m guessing these wooden boxes will end up storing more memorabilia. Sigh. 

It’s been a fun process so far, though.  I’d forgotten how many wonderful things I got to see when I was younger.  Just seeing a show name on a stub brings back crazy memories.  I was a music major, and thus, went to a lot of stuff. I also worked at our performing arts center, and got comp tickets twice a semester.  I worked at the National Music Camp at Interlochen, and saw 6 performances a week for 4 summers.  I’ve also been in my fair share of things.  I’ve lost probably 75% of the stubs, but I still have tons.  I’d totally forgotten seeing Spyro Gyra, for example, and Carmina Burina (which I now remember seeing in Indianapolis while at a conference…I thought I was SO grown up), and Foxfire.  I remembered the Hubbard Street Dance Company, but I hadn’t remembered seeing them twice.  I’ve found stubs that are for shows that I was in….my parents must have given me the stubs afterward, and stubs for sentimental favorites–my first professional musical  (Godspell), the first musical I directed (Wizard of Oz), tickets to Rent that I was supposed to see with a date—who backed out of both the show and my life at the last minute.  I went anyway. Musicals are always better than tearfests. 

My grandmother had done this with postage stamps on a cigar box.  I always loved playing with that box, and wondering what the letters had contained.  Maybe my little ticket stub box will evoke similar mysteries for someone else. 

At the very least, it will get the stuff off my wall!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I save a lot of memorabilia too, but I’m not nearly as creative with it as you are!

    Sounds like lots of good memories.

  2. cool idea! i always save stuff like that and then never can figure out what to do with it. i value memorabilia more than i honor it with my practices.

  3. fun to read. You know, I have put ticket stubs in those plastic pages they make for card collections — you can fit lots per page (as opposed to a photo album) and they’re quick and easy to slide. For us less-creative types!

  4. I have a ticket to a Michael Smith concert in a pocketbook that I rarely use, but it makes me happy to find the stub when I do use it. I also use stubs as bookmarks, which leads to happy, random memories when I’m re-reading.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

